Gå til innhold
☰ Menu

Sex chromosomes

Sex chromosomes are chromosomes that decide gender. The female sex chromosome is called the X chromosome and the male chromosome is called the Y chromosome. Women have two similar sex chromosomes (XX) and men have one X and one Y chromosome (XY). Every cell in the body has 46 chromosomes (23 pairs). Egg cells and sperm cells have half the amount of chromosomes (23) in relation to other cells in the body.

We are in the process of translating the full content of this website to English.
Translated material will be published consecutively as soon as it is ready.
There are about 1300 questions with answers, as well as many articles that need to be translated. 
We ask for your patience and understanding for this.